It’s okay to cry.

I don’t watch a lot of television. I never really have.

Even as a child, I was more interested in cheorgraphing interpretative dances routines in my room than watching TV (ok, fine I may still enjoy doing that time to time…).

I lack focus when watching TV. I find it hard to focus. My mind tends to wander and unless the plot is straightforward, I often find it hard to follow (I promise i am not stupidI just lack TV IQ. Yes, I am one of those annoying ‘question-people’…”Wait, did he just come back to life?”, “Isn’t that her baby daddy?”…and so it goes on…)

I am also those rare individuals who dislike cartoons. The Simpsons. South Park. Family Guy. I can’t stand them. Don’t judge me.  I just prefer watching ‘real people’.

Despite my impartial relationship to TV, there are a small handful of shows that I absolutely love. One of which is the Australian-drama “Offspring”.  I identify with so many facets of the show and especially the main protagonist Nina (thirty-something played by Asher Keddie) – her slightly crazy (in a good way!) family, the way she is a bit of a ‘battler’ when it comes to love, her continual slightly neurotic internal self dialogue …it all seems a little too relevant to my own life! I believe there is a ‘little’ bit of Nina in all of us women …

You laugh. You cry. You cringe. You have to watch Offspring…if you haven’t already ( i promise, I don’t work for Channel 10).

Listen here for an amazing podcast with Debra Oswald (writer of Offspring)

One thing I especially love about the show is the design and sense of style that is interwoven through out each episode – from Nina’s iconic boho style to her uber-cool apartment, there is a distinct sense of style that is interwoven throughout the show. All of which seems so effortless and natural.

It is no wonder that these websites dedicated to cataloguing the shows design style have emerged. Check these links below:

http://www.mamamia.com.au/entertainment/behind-the-scenes-with-the-offspring-stylist/

http://thehoopla.com.au/ninas-style/

http://inthenightsky.blogspot.com.au/2012/04/offspring-nina-style.html

http://everything-offspring.tumblr.com/

For the interior:

http://thehoopla.com.au/ninas-style/

http://www.weebirdy.com/2012/07/get-the-look-of-ninas-apartment-from-offspring.html

* * *

You couldn’t have missed it. Even if you don’t watch Offspring, you would have to be hiding under a rock to have missed the news that…..Patrick passed away on Wednesday night. It made the papers. It had women everywhere reaching for the tissues. It had me speechless.  After the episode had finished – I just sat there in silence. Tears streaming down my face. Texting my sisters and mum for comfort…see below…HILARIOUS (even my dad gets involved!)

 

 

nikita shethnikita shethnikita sheth

 

On my walk to work on Thursday morning, I honestly felt so sad.  I kept replaying the scene over and over in my head. Wondering how it could have been different. Wondering how Nina would give birth to their baby without him by her side. Wondering whether she would ever find love again. Through out the day I experienced through the stages of grief – I honestly felt angry, confused and in shock.

Admittedly, I have been known to cry in episodes of the Bold & Beautiful, Home & Away and even Masterchef.

But, it made me realise the emotionally investment you can project onto television characters. It made me realise how the medium of television can merge the lines between real life and fantasy. And it honestly made me realise the sheer power of television.

Television is a personal and very intimate medium. In a way we invite these characters into our lives (and homes) every week. I guess, it makes sense that we get so attached to them as we watch them grow.  In one way I believe television can offer a mode of escape, but I also believe it also rationalises and mirrors so many facets of our lives too; the struggle, the heartbreak, the successes….

It also made me realise the way in which the television as physical entity impacts the space in which it is placed. A seamless integration of the television/entertainment is important as it needs to be positioned so that it is simultaneously function yet doesn’t aesthetically dominate the space.

Whilst, TVs are not as bulky as they used to be, screens are getting bigger and bigger, therefore it is important ensure they are not the focal point (unless of course you want that!). Power outlets, the height of the screen and the design of the entertainment unit are factors that must be carefully considered.

See below for a roundup of some TV inspirational spaces…

tv interior design

(Image via  otisandfrank.blogspot.com)

interior design tv

(Image via Houzz)

interior design

(Image via swipelife.com)

interior design

(Image via hgtv.com)

interior design

(Image via hildashem.se)

interiore design

(Via Pinterest)

interior design

(Image via thefancy.com)

interior design

(Image via diariodesign.com)

retro tv

(Image via fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.ne)

interior design

(Image via indulgy.com)

Ok, it is Sunday night…i’m going to try and watch some TV!

N x

Leave a Reply

